ordinary extraordinary things.

April 4, 2011 § 1 Comment

Photo of colored water mixed with soap

Today at work some of the kids were pouring colored water in different bowls and cups and mixed it with soap or other things they could find. I saw this mixture sitting in a big metal baking dish and I felt the need to photograph it. Most days I probably would not notice it, but for some reason I noticed it today. After taking this picture I started thinking about a class I took during my first year at FIDM about trend analysis and how the most seemingly ordinary things can inspire people to make the most beautiful creations. This ordinary baking dish of black bubbly water got me thinking about the of grey you can see in the foam. I later looked at pieces done by one of my favorite designers, Alexander McQueen, and found this dress that reminded me of the black foamy water.

Dress by Alexander McQueen

§ One Response to ordinary extraordinary things.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ordinary extraordinary things. at Kate Voltz.

meta

